dispatch from the house of nerds

Last night I had an extremely elaborate anxiety dream about homeless people.

(I stupidly read this (very depressing) article, The Sharp, Sudden Decline of America’s Middle Class right before bed. Part of my dream was about a couple of intense hipsters who lived in a really cool space that I slowly realized was not a FORMER school as they claimed but just a school, and that they were squatting during summer vacation. CHILLING.)

So it was nice when my husband came in to wake me up and say “I just thought you would want to know. The Supreme Court ruled in favor of the Affordable Care Act!”

And I sleepily said “OH THANK GOD. What was the count?”

And he said “Five-four.”

And I said “Who was the swing vote?”

And he said “Roberts. Kennedy went the other way.”

And I said “ROBERTS?????”

And then I felt a certain peace come over me, and a sense, for the first time in several years, that maybe our fractured nation can get it together and join the ranks of other modern industrialized nations and everything doesn’t have to suck all the time. If Justice Roberts can go left, clearly ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to dispatch from the house of nerds

  1. Janiece says:

    Just so. Who would have thought that Justice Roberts would be the one to step into the breach?

Leave a Reply

